AUGUST 11, 2014

Book News by Luis Borella

Once again the Outdoor Retailer Summer Show in Salt Lake City proved that the demise of the book has been greatly exaggerated.  While many traditional booksellers are looking to find sidelines to fill their shelves with, those who have made a living selling non book items are returning to the book as a means of [...]

Read More »

Boating / Water Sports

The Emerald Mile: The Epic Story of the Fastest Ride in History Through the Heart of the Grand Canyon

Kevin Fedarko
(Scribner Book Company, $17.00, PB, 9781439159866)

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm and Seabiscuit, The Emerald Mile is the engrossing tale of the fastest boat ride ever down the Colorado River through the Grand Canyon. A writer who has worked as a river guide himself and is intimately familiar with the canyon's many secrets, Kevin Fedarko is the ideal narrator for this American epic. How did Kenton Grua, the man at the oars, get down the entire length of the Colorado River from Lee's Ferry to Lake Mead. Did he survive? Just barely. Now, this remarkable, epic feat unfolds here, in The Emerald Mile. Now in paperback

Also New in Boating / Water Sports:

Children's

Kid's Guide to Exploring Nature

Sarah Schmidt; Illustrated by Laszlo Veres
(Brooklyn Botanic Garden, $16.95, HC, 9781889538884)

This gorgeously illustrated guide will inspire kids to look closely at the world around them! Created by the experts at the renowned Brooklyn Botanic Garden, it teaches children how to observe environments as a naturalist does and leads them on 24 adventures that reveal the complex ecosystems of plants and animals in the woods, at the beach, and in a city park. Detailed, scientifically based drawings help young scientists identify hundreds of North American plants and animals.

Climbing / Mountaineering

Accidents in North American Mountaineering 2014: Know the Ropes: Snow Climbing

Jed Williamson
(American Alpine Club, $12.95, PB, 9781933056852)

Since 1948, the American Alpine Club has been documenting the year's most significant and teachable climbing accidents, providing invaluable lessons to climbers. The latest edition of the ultimate professional mountain guide, Know the Ropes offers in-depth instruction and copious illustration detailing the best practices for snow climbing to avoid slips that all-too-quickly become dangerous accidents.

Also New in Climbing / Mountaineering:

Foraging

California Foraging: 120 Wild and Flavorful Edibles from Evergreen Huckleberries to Wild Ginger

Judith Larner Lowry
(Timber Press, $24.95, PB, 9781604694208)

The diversity of California's terrain and climate are a forager's dream, with unique offerings from the coast, the mountains, the deserts, and everywhere in between. A passionate wild foods expert, Judith Larner Lowry shows you what to look for and how to gather it in a sustainable way. California Foraging is a terrific guide packed with detailed information and clear photography for the safe identification of more than 120 wild plants.

Also New in Foraging:

Nature

Rockhounding Oregon: A Guide to the State's Best Rockhounding Sites

Lars Johnson
(FalconGuide, $19.95, PB, 9780762783663)

Rockhounding Oregon provides detailed directions and GPS coordinates to the best rockhounding sites in Oregon, with valuable tips on what to tools to bring and how to conduct your search. Comprehensive lists of minerals or fossils for each site and excellent color photos will help you know what to look for and to identify what you've found. Rockhounding Oregon is a must-have for anyone interested in collecting their own minerals, gems, and fossils in the region.

Outdoor Skills

The Don't Get Lost Out There! Deck

Editors of Mountaineers Books
(Mountaineers Books, $7.95, PB, 9781594859137)

The newest addition to the wildly popular Don't! Decks series of outdoor-tips playing cards features the best wilderness navigation tips from the Mountaineers Books library of "how-to" books. Whether you're safe at home, in a cozy tent, or on the trail, have fun with this deck while learning basic wilderness safety skills.

Also New in Outdoor Skills:

Running

Build Your Running Body: A Total-Body Fitness Plan for All Distance Runners, from Milers to Ultramarathoners Run Farther, Faster, and Injury-Free

Pete Magill
(Experiment, $21.95, PB, 9781615191024)

With over 300 photos to illustrate everything from strides to strength programs, this easy-to-use workout manual draws on the latest research in running physiology to target all the components that go into every stride including muscles, connective tissue, cardiovascular fitness, energy production, the nervous system, hormones, and the brain. Build Your Running Body offers 30 recipes and more than 150 workouts from weightlifting and cross-training to resistance exercises fine-tuned to individual skill levels and performance goals.

Also New in Running: